Tuesday, July 03, 2012

Which "Ten Commandments" Do You Believe In?

There seems to be two different sets of Ten Commandments.  One set is written in the bible and the other set is taught through the Catholic Church.  This isn't about church bashing.  This is about sharing information.  What you do with this information is up to you.

BIBLE: I am the LORD thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt have no other gods before me.
CATHOLICISM: I am the LORD your God. You shall worship the Lord your God and Him only shall you serve.


BIBLE: Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: 5Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me; 6And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.

Wait a minute! What happened to not making any graven images and not bowing down to them? Seems the second commandment was deleted and replaced with the third commandment. Maybe it’s just a reorganization of the commandments. Let’s continue and see if it shows up further down the list.


BIBLE: Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.

CATHOLICISM: Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.

Okay, so now they have moved the fourth commandment up to the third commandment slot. Let’s continue.


BIBLE: Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labor, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates: For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day, and hallowed it.

CATHOLICISM: Honor your father and your mother.

Again, the commandment has been moved up from the following position to the current one.


BIBLE: Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not kill.

Same situation. The sixth commandment has become the fifth commandment. If this keeps up, they’ll be short one commandment by the time we get to the end of the list, unless they’ve taken the commandment about not creating idols or bowing down to them and added it to one of the remaining five commandments.


BIBLE: Thou shalt not kill.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not commit adultery.

We’re still in that same pattern. Let’s continue.


BIBLE: Thou shalt not commit adultery.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not steal.

Well, we’re getting close to the end. The Catholic Ten Commandments still don’t line up with the exact order in the bible, but I’m more concerned about the missing commandment. There are three left. Let’s see if it appears down below.


BIBLE: Thou shalt not steal.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

Nope, not yet. But Catholicism does have ten commandments. Hmmm…. let’s get to the ninth commandment and see what that says.


BIBLE: Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.

Hold on!!! Although the tenth commandment has been moved up the the number nine position, it is an incomplete commandment! What Catholicism uses for the ninth commandment is actually half of the tenth commandment!


BIBLE: Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbor's.

CATHOLICISM: You shall not covet your neighbor's goods.

… and there is the other half of the tenth commandment. So, in order for Catholics to continue to have statues of Jesus, Mary and all the “saints” and in order for Catholics to be able to pray to those “saints”, the Catholic church had to kill the second commandment. That left them with a problem. How could you call it the Ten Commandments if there were only nine? Solution: Split the tenth commandment up into two commandments, thus creating a complete list of ten commandments.

No comments:

Post a Comment